Error When Trying to REgister AddIn Express from WS

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Error When Trying to REgister AddIn Express from WS
Trying to Reigster AddInExpress - failing 
Daniel Banks




Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-04
When I try to register my AddIn in Visual Studio it failes everytime and the error reported is :

<LogEntry Date="2019-11-28 11:54:27" Severity="Exception" Source="AddinExpress.Projects.Common.Registrator.RegisterADXProject" ProcessId="42136">
<Exception Type="System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException" Source="EnvDTE.Property.set_Value">
<Message>Exception occurred. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80020009 (DISP_E_EXCEPTION))</Message>
<ComException ErrorCode="0x80020009" />
<StackTrace> at EnvDTE.Property.set_Value(Object lppvReturn)
at AddinExpress.Projects.Common.Registrator.VSLangRebuild(Project project, Boolean register)
at AddinExpress.Projects.Common.Registrator.RebuildProject(Project project, Boolean register)
at AddinExpress.Projects.Common.Registrator.RegisterADXProject(Project project)</StackTrace>
</Exception>
</LogEntry>

Can anyone help?

D

PS Can a moderator someone change the topiv tital WS is obviously VS.
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 06:49:38 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16817
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Daniel,

Is it possible that you use a dotnet core style csproj? If so, such projects are not supported as they do not let you perform a COM registration of your add-in project.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 06:59:40 Top
Daniel Banks




Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-04
Alas no, this is a vbproj, it is working fine for all the other developers and useed to work for me, but no more.
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 07:07:49 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16817
Joined: 2006-05-11
Open your project Properties, switch to the Compile tab, check whether the "Register for COM interop" check box is enabled or disabled (at the bottom of the age).

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 07:25:43 Top
Daniel Banks




Posts: 4
Joined: 2019-11-04
It is currently neither ticked or untiacked but showing a black square in the box.
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 08:29:12 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16817
Joined: 2006-05-11
Try to tick and untick it. Does this work?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 28 Nov, 2019 08:40:34 Top