How can we keep the Ribbon display in place?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

How can we keep the Ribbon display in place?
 
Leon Lai Kan




Posts: 200
Joined: 2018-12-20
Hi,

I am working with a test add-in.

I have 2 Tabs on the Excel Menu: Tab1 and Tab2.

When I click on say Tab2, its ribbon appears with several buttons on it.

When I click on a button, 2 things may happen depending on the specific button clicked:

(a) The Ribbon remains in place as it was before the button was clicked.
(b) The Ribbon disappears because it's the HOME Tab which is now active, and it's the Home Ribbon which displays.

Behaviour (a) is what I want. Behaviour (b) seems to be a nuisance.

The ideal situation would be to leave it to the user to select the tab he wants. This Tab (and its ribbon) should "stay put" until the user decides otherwise and clicks another tab.

Unfortunately, I don't know the reason why in some cases Tab2 behaves like in (a) and why in other cases it behaves like in (b).


Is there a way to make my tabs always \"stay put\" once the user has selected it?


Thanks
Leon
Posted 26 Apr, 2019 06:45:38 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 16742
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Leon,

I assume the Home tab activates because of the action the Ribbon button you click performs. To check this, you can comment out the code of the corresponding event handler.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 26 Apr, 2019 07:56:37 Top
Leon Lai Kan




Posts: 200
Joined: 2018-12-20
Hi, Andrei

Thanks for your reply.

I will try your suggestion.

Best Regards
Leon
Posted 26 Apr, 2019 08:41:08 Top