Add-In-Express Error when using a "Create an installer" Wizard

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Only registered users are allowed to subscribe.
Add-In-Express Error when using a "Create an installer" Wizard
 
Subscribe
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
When trying to use WixToolSet to create an install project it gets to the point where you choose a language etc and when you click next it throws an Add-In-Express error, I've tried several versions of Wix including with/without the Visual Studio 2017 extensions but always get to the same place and get the same error. I've also tried different settings in the wizard in an attempt to progress but all fail.

Error message is below::

Detailed technical information follows:
---
Date and Time: 18/10/2017 14:10:43
Machine Name: **********
IP Address: **********
Current User: **********

Application Domain: DefaultDomain
Assembly Codebase: file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/Add-in Express/Add-in Express for .NET/Bin/Packages/VS2005/AddinExpress.Wizard.dll
Assembly Full Name: AddinExpress.Wizard, Version=8.7.4430.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=4416dd98f0861965
Assembly Version: 8.7.4430.0

Exception Source: AddinExpress.Wizard
Exception Type: System.NullReferenceException
Exception Message: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
Exception Target Site: CreateSetupProject

---- Stack Trace ----
AddinExpress.SetupWizard.SetupWizardForm.CreateSetupProject(primaryOutputPath As String)
AddinExpress.Wizard.dll: N 0670 (0x29E) IL
AddinExpress.SetupWizard.SetupWizardForm.CreateSetupProject(project As Project, targetFramework As UInt32, serviceProvider As IServiceProvider)
AddinExpress.Wizard.dll: N 0127 (0x7F) IL
AddinExpress.Wizard.ADXPackage.Exec(guidCmdGroup As Guid&, cmdID As UInt32, nCmdexecopt As UInt32, pvaIn As IntPtr, pvaOut As IntPtr)
AddinExpress.Wizard.dll: N 1076 (0x434) IL
Posted 18 Oct, 2017 08:39:08 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14115
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello WIll,

Please make sure that both WiX itself and the WiX extension for VS 2017 are installed.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 18 Oct, 2017 10:27:19 Top
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
Hi Andrei,

I've tried with both 3.11 and the weekly builds of v4.0.0.5512 (built on Wednesday, July 12 2017) both with and without the extension installed from https://marketplace.visualstudio.com/items?itemName=RobMensching.WixToolsetVisualStudio2017ExtensionVisual Studio 2017 Extensions for WixToolSet but always get the error.

This is with Visual Studio 2017 Profesional, previously I had no issues with Visual Studio 2015 but the company has recently upgraded us all. Is there anything else you can think of that might be the root of the issue?

Kind regards,
Will
Posted 18 Oct, 2017 10:34:06 Top
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
I tried a different project this morning to see if something about the project was causing the fault, but I get the exact same error every time.

Currently have the latest Wix 3.11 tool set installed and the latest Visual Studio Extensions for VS2017.

I am in the process of having Visual Studio 2015 re-installed to test if the wizard has the same fault there, I will update this post again shortly, but right now this is proving to be a major roadblock to releasing our update.

Kind regards,
Will
Posted 19 Oct, 2017 04:57:53 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14115
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Will,

You need to use WiX 3.11. Does creating a WiX setup project work for you?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 19 Oct, 2017 06:39:09 Top
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
Hi Andrei,

Thanks for the reply, yes creating a new Wix Project with 3.11 and the Extension Tools installed works fine. The only other change I've discovered is that the last build we did was prior to the September 7th Add In Express update, not sure if that is helpful information or not?

Visual Studio 2015 (Professional) is working without fault however, so for now at least I can fall back to that to enable the update to go out.

It would appear to be an issue in Visual Studio 2017 Professional, as I tried various versions of Wix I can't pin point the fault to a particular version of that but the error message was always thrown by Add In Express, please let me know if you need more information on creating the error and I'll provide what information I can.

Cheers
Will
Posted 19 Oct, 2017 08:05:31 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14115
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello WIll,

In a couple of minutes I'll send you a link to an Add-in Express build that is supposed to fix this issue on your side. Please install it, check if it works for you, and let me know about the result.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 20 Oct, 2017 05:12:38 Top
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
Thanks Andrei,

My work machine is currently installing Windows Creators Update and has been for the last 2.5 hours (thanks Microsoft), as soon as it finishes I'll follow up with some testing and report back for you. Thank you for looking in to this for us.

Cheers
Will
Posted 20 Oct, 2017 05:19:53 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14115
Joined: 2006-05-11
Will,

If the build doesn't work for you, I'd like to access your development PC remotely: today I'm available for a remote in the next three hours. If this is okay with you, I'd suggest using TeamViewer. In this case you'll need to send me your session ID and password. Please send them to the support email address; make sure your email contains a link to this topic.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 20 Oct, 2017 07:38:12 Top
WIll Blackburn




Posts: 24
Joined: 2016-04-27
Hi Andrei,

Good news and bad news, I've used the new installer you sent over and it does create an installer project for a blank new source, but not for our existing project...

This does mean that for some reason there is something missing, or believed to be missing from the project in Visual Studio 2017 Profesional which is not required for 2015. But a newly created project in Visual Studio 2017 does have the required extra information.

Happy to do a Teamviewer session if you think it's helpful, but it looks like it's something about our project...

Cheers
Will
Posted 20 Oct, 2017 09:20:36 Top