Using UpdateTopics(TopicsArray)

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Using UpdateTopics(TopicsArray)
 
Subscribe
Kiru Marimuthu




Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-07-20
Hi

We are creating Excel add-in which calls restful api to resolve topics in large size say around 10000.
We are trying to optimize our add-in for performance when users request large sets of data and we are experimenting with the best way to interact with the RTD server. We were doing this in batch so that there is some output shown in Excel instead of user waiting for all the topics to be finished.

We have the inconsistent behavior of UpdateTopics(TopicsArray). We have been experimenting with different batch size like 1000 and 500 which works fine and resolves all the topics on the screen. When we reduce the batch size to 200 it behaves differently for each run sometimes it doesn't update on the screen.

Please let me know the correct way of using UpdateTopics(TopicsArray).

I got a sample project please let me know how to send it you.
Posted 12 Oct, 2017 08:45:05 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Kiru,

Do you call UpdateTopics from a separate thread?
Posted 13 Oct, 2017 07:16:28 Top
Kiru Marimuthu




Posts: 8
Joined: 2017-07-20
Hi Sergey

As suggested by Andrei in here, I am using SendMessage to call UpdateTopics.
Posted 13 Oct, 2017 07:41:11 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7187
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Kiru,

Please send me the sample project on the support e-mail. I will test it.
Posted 13 Oct, 2017 09:34:36 Top