Cannot load type AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRemoteObject

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Cannot load type AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRemoteObject
 
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

When I install on users machines on my new addin I get:

Cannot load type AddinExpress.MSO.ADXRemoteObject, AddinExpress.MSO, Version=2.7.1762.2005

I am using XP SP2 with .NET 2 all patched project running under VS2005.

I had a another post open in august
http://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=5&TID=1147&MID=5365&phrase_id=275299#message5365

which this follows on from which was resolved as I was using the SHIM but I now am having the same problem with the loader.

How do I get Add-in AddinExpress.MSO.dll into the GAC, should I just put it in the setup project GAC folder ?

Or should I as well run any command lines against the custom actions ? I remember /GAC="MSO" being mentioned but not sure if I should do this under loader and latest ADX version ?


Matt
Posted 02 Oct, 2006 08:11:38 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt.

Under the adxloader you need to add the AddinExpress.MSO.dll into the GAC via the GAC folder of the setup project.
Posted 02 Oct, 2006 08:46:07 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

I have added AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll to the setup GAC folder and it fails on the clients when installing with message:

ADX Loader Error - "the dllregister function failed during execution"

I have set the AddinExpress.MSO.2005.dll properties Register to both vsdraDoNotRegister, vsdraCOM and they both fail with this error.

It does not fail when in the application folder !

My custom actions are as follows:

Name adxloader.dll
EntryPoint DllRegister
InstallerClass False

with the rollback and uninstall and DllUnregister.

Any ideas what is wrong. This is a new ADX project created in 2.7 not upgraded

Matt
Posted 02 Oct, 2006 09:42:19 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

Sorted it had to be added to the GAC and install folder now all works fine.

matt
Posted 02 Oct, 2006 11:02:57 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7224
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Matt.

Yes, correct. It should be placed in both locations.
Posted 03 Oct, 2006 05:26:12 Top