Wrong description shown for UDF parameter

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Wrong description shown for UDF parameter
 
Jason Rodman




Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-11-01
I setup a XLL UDF with all of its parameters, and up useful descriptions for each so the show up nicely in the function dialog. The problem is that the last parameter's description shows the description from the parameter before it in the list. I double checked the designer and it shows correct.

On another note I tried to search your forum for this issue, but the search feature is broken. Returns an error ever time no matter what I search, so I apologize if this has already been addressed.
Posted 09 May, 2017 15:42:20 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14138
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Jason,

Please check section My XLL Add-in Doesn't Show Descriptions, see https://www.add-in-express.com/docs/net-excel-udf-tips.php#xll-no-descriptions. Does the length of the descriptions break the limits?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 10 May, 2017 06:47:42 Top
Jason Rodman




Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-11-01
I just checked and the length is only 100 characters for that parameter. It is the longest description for any parameter for that function. Is there any known issue with using certain characters in descriptions? Here is what it says:

Used to filter by lot business unit category codes using Field=Value format separated by semicolons.


And the issue isn't that the description does not display, it shows the wrong one all together. Maybe you can use this description to reproduce the problem.
Posted 10 May, 2017 08:32:36 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14138
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Jason,

I still think the issue is caused by getting breaking the second limit. How many parameter descriptions do you have? Could you please cut the descriptions to e.g. just one character?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 11 May, 2017 05:53:54 Top
Jason Rodman




Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-11-01
It appears you are on to something. I have 21 parameters, and the first 20 work fine. The 21st does not show its description, just the one before it. So to see if your hunch about length was right, I chopped the descriptions of 17-20 down to one word. It didn't make a difference. It shows them as they are entered, and the 21st shows the description from the previous one. I think it is the number of params, not the cumulative length of descriptions.
Posted 11 May, 2017 08:56:34 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14138
Joined: 2006-05-11
Jason,

I reproduce a slightly different variant of the issue that you experience. In my version I have 30 parameters named "a1" through "a30"; each parameter has its description equal to the parameter name. The total length of the string composed of the descriptions (adding a separator after each description) is 110; this is less than the limitation mentioned in the above-mentioned section.

In the Function Arguments dialog, I see parameters a20-a30 has "a2" in the description. I'll ask our guys to look into the issue; it is now filed under #10661 in our issue-tracking database. When I have news on this, I'll send you a note.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 11 May, 2017 10:05:53 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14138
Joined: 2006-05-11
I use Excel 2016 16.0.7927.1020 32bit. What Excel build are you using?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 11 May, 2017 10:07:23 Top
Jason Rodman




Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-11-01
I am running Excel 2013 (15.0.4919.1002). I used the code you posted in your FAQ about this to measure all of my functions and all cumulative parameter names were short of the 255 limit. The most I found was 220. Also, all of their cumulative descriptions were way over the limit, like 1000 characters and up. I have several functions like that and only one of them is having this issue, which is the only one over 20 parameters. Let me know what you devs find.
Posted 11 May, 2017 10:22:27 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14138
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Jason,

It was a problem in the code of Add-in Express. It will be fixed in the next build; no ETA is defined yet. I'll send you a note when it is published. If I have a pre-release assembly, I'll send it to you for testing.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 18 May, 2017 08:34:35 Top
Jason Rodman




Posts: 33
Joined: 2016-11-01
Thanks for getting it fixed. Cheers.
Posted 18 May, 2017 08:37:55 Top