Problem sending modified email from MailItem.Send

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Problem sending modified email from MailItem.Send

Roger Levy

I am fairly new to add-ins and ADX and I'm still trying to get my first add-in to be correct. I am having a problem in my MailItem.Send event code. I append to MailItem.Body 3 different times, adding text1, hyperlink, and text2. When the event handler exits the mail is sent as I expect but a copy of the mail remains in my Outbox, with only text1 added. This copy never gets sent (it shouldn't) so I need to manually delete it. My expectation is that the copy should not be there. I release the MailItem COM object in MailItem.Close and if I open the strange mail in the Outbox I get an exception "COM object that has been separated from its underlying RCW cannot be used."
Posted 30 Apr, 2017 16:17:47 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Roger,

Do you cancel the send? Do you handle some other events? Try to comment out that code.

Try to do this in the ItemSend event of the Outlook Events component.

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 01 May, 2017 03:37:00 Top
Roger Levy

My code was making a copy in MailItem_Send() of the original mail that it only sent if the user selected an option. If the option was not selected, I did a ReleaseComObject on the mail copy and set the variable that referenced it to Nothing, however this does not seem to be enough. I changed the code so that the copy is only created if it is definitely going to be sent and that resolved the problem. Thanks.