Writing to registry on terminal servers

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Writing to registry on terminal servers

Christian Kolbas

Hello Everyone!

I currently have an Outlook plug-in that stores some user info/settings in the registry. Can someone point me in a direction of how I can do this on a terminal server?

I am still fairly new to terminal servers so any direction would be appreciated.

Thanks
Posted 11 Aug, 2014 10:48:25 Top
Andrei Smolin

Add-in Express team

Hello Christian,

I regard a terminal server as a PC with several users on it. If you have several users, the settings can be "for all users" and "for a given user". An example of a "for all users" setting would be something meaning "use this or that calculation algorithm". An example of a per-user setting would be "I need my panes to be green".

The "for all users" settings should be saved to HKLM, to a key which is accessible by every user on the PC. Per-user settings should be stored in HKCU. Again, the key must be accessible by the user. You can create a per-user key when your add-in is started for the first time. As to the "for all users" settings, this depend on the way you deploy the add-in.