Converting Word-Addin from 2003 to 2005

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Converting Word-Addin from 2003 to 2005
 
Lars Hjort




Posts: 5
Joined: 2005-09-29
Hi.
Hope someone can help me.
Since the IT dep. at my firm had the Framework 2.0 rolled out, my Add-in hasn't worked.
I've tried the different solutions listed at this site, but nothing have worked.
I've tried:
- creating the winword.exe.config
- to change the Host Application to v1.1
- to change the "load behavior" in registry to 3 in both HKLM and HKCU
- updating my word.
- updating my add-in express
The command bar just won't show, but if I force it to execute an event (to show a popup) it does. Somehow it's loaded but not showing.

So now I'll try to convert my project from VS2003 to 2005.
This is what I've done so far.
1) opened the project at let 2005 do it's thing (converting the proj files)
2) changed the reference: removed addin.MSO.dll to it's counterpart .2005.dll
3) created a new setup project from scratch (using the word documentation from add-inn)
4) Re-added all the resourcefiles (an error I got because of VS2005 and sourcesafe)

But it'll still not load!

No errors - just an empty toolbar.

Please HELP!
Posted 02 May, 2006 03:27:56 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7235
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Lars.

Did you install the following update for VS 2005?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/908002
Posted 02 May, 2006 17:15:36 Top
Michael McMahon




Posts: 56
Joined: 2005-05-03
Hi Lars,

Does the addin still work fine in development? The reason I ask is that I had much the same problem recently.

We saw the same thing in our office where the addin basically stopped working on most machines. It still worked on some and it seemed to have something to do with updates or the .NET framework 2.

I have since resolved the problem by shimming and signing the shim dll to ensure that the addin is trusted, etc...

Let me know how you go.


Mike
Posted 11 May, 2006 00:37:18 Top