Drop down control issues

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Drop down control issues
Unexpecetd behaviour with VS 2010 Microsoft combo box and Infragistics combo box 
This forum has moved to a new location. From now on, please post all your questions about Add-in Express Regions on .NET and VSTO forum.
Larry Watson




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-02
Building a Region with VS 2010 Add-In Express complete edition.

If I use a windows forms combobox I cannot limit the number of items that appear when user clicks dropdown even though I set it in properties and have even tried setting again in code at runtime. If I use an Infragistics v8.2 the dropdown values flash and then disappear!

Infragistics control works fine in VSTO without Add-In Express. What am I forgetting to do?

Windows 7 64bit

Thanks
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 08:42:07 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Larry,

Are you able to reproduce the issue with a standard drop down control which comes with .net framework?

BTW What version and build number of Add-in Express do you use?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 09:10:32 Top
Larry Watson




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-02
Standard drop down control fr om .net Framework (VS 2010 Windows Forms Toolbox) - does not lim it the items displayed.



6.4.3056.2005

thanks
Posted 02 Jun, 2011 11:33:42 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Larry,

Did you try to contact Infragistics developers instead? The bug may reside in their controls.
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 02:49:26 Top
Larry Watson




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-02
What about the MS control?
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 06:52:21 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Larry,

Sorry, but I don't quite understand you. In your previous post you said that .net framework standard controls work as expected because they don't limit the number of items displayed. So, the issue can be reproduced only with Infragistics controls. Am I right?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 06:56:09 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Larry,

I have found a similar forum thread for you. Please check it out.
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 07:28:41 Top
Larry Watson




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-02
Eugene,

Thanks for the Infragistics research - much appreciated. I still am not clear why I cannot control the properties of a framework combo box
Posted 05 Jun, 2011 09:59:26 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Add-in Express team


Posts: 8540
Joined: 2007-07-25
Hi Larry,

Sorry, but I don't quite understand you. Do you have any issue with a standard .net control? If so, are you able to reproduce it with a newly created add-in project? Could you please describe the issue in detail?
.NET, Extended MAPI, Windows Phone & RT
Posted 06 Jun, 2011 02:47:48 Top
Larry Watson




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-02
Eugene,

The issue with the framework combo box control is a Vista and later issue. All fixed. Thanks for staying with this.

Great product and regards,

Larry
Posted 06 Jun, 2011 07:24:06 Top