Background image in toolbar

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Background image in toolbar
 
Hernan




Posts: 37
Joined: 2011-01-28
Hi, quick question. I'm currently running release 2011.7.1.4102 of Add-In-Express for Internet Explorer, and I'm trying to change the background image of my toolbar, but I can't seem to make it work. I've tried the following things:
- Chaging the BackgroundImage property, using an image from the resources of my project.
- Changing the BackgroundImage property, using an image loaded directly from the file system.
- Changing the BackColor property to something shiny, like red or yellow.
Every time I get the same standard light blue.
After all this, I thought that maybe it was impossible to change the background, but then I checked the screenshots gallery at http://www.add-in-express.com/programming-internet-explorer/, and I could see that you managed to change the toolbar's color to yellow.
So my question is, what am I missing? What am I doing wrong?
Thanks!
Posted 06 Jun, 2011 12:28:54 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7234
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Hernan,

The fact is that Add-in Express displays the IE theme instead of the color set in the BackColor property of the toolbar. So, to change the back color you need to put a panel on the toolbar and then change the BackColor/BackgroundImage in the Panel component.
Posted 06 Jun, 2011 14:13:08 Top
Hernan




Posts: 37
Joined: 2011-01-28
Hi, thanks for the reply. I did what you suggest, and the problem now is that any transparency that I might have on other components on top of the panel show the standard light blue instead of the image on the panel. For instance, if you put a label on top of the panel with the background, and you set the label's back color as transparent, you don't get to see the panel behind, but the IE theme instead.
I can provide a screenshot if needed.
I tried with a picturebox instead of panel and I'm getting the same result.

Thanks again!
Posted 07 Jun, 2011 09:56:11 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7234
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Hernan,

I can't reproduce the issue with a panel and a label on it. Please send me a sample project. I will check it.
Posted 07 Jun, 2011 12:27:52 Top
Hernan




Posts: 37
Joined: 2011-01-28
Sent through the Contact Support Service page.
Thanks!
Posted 07 Jun, 2011 13:48:37 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7234
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Hernan,

Thank you for the project. The cause of the issue is in the label. You just need to add it (or just drag-n-drop it) to the panel and not to the toolbar. Please check it.
Posted 08 Jun, 2011 04:23:30 Top
Hernan




Posts: 37
Joined: 2011-01-28
It works.
Thanks a lot!
Posted 08 Jun, 2011 14:17:50 Top