Setup doesn't register toolbar

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Setup doesn't register toolbar
 
Ivan Toskov




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-03
Hello,

I have created setup proceudre for IE toolbar, install procedure finishes, but toolbar is not registered.
This is part of the adxregistrator.log :

10:57:09 0216 Getting the base directory for the domain.
10:57:09 0216 Success. The directory is 'C:\Windows\system32\'.
10:57:09 0216 Searching for the Add-in Express core library.
10:57:09 0216 Error: The ADX Registrator can't find the Add-in Express core library.
10:57:09 0216 The add-in registration process is completed with HRESULT = -2147024894.

If I start adxregistrator from installed application folder using command propmpt (adxregistrator.exe /install=MyIEToolbar1.dll), it is registered, and this is the part of the log:

10:34:38 0216 Getting the base directory for the domain.
10:34:38 0216 Success. The directory is 'c:\Program Files\MyIEToolbar1\MyIEToolbar1\'.
10:34:38 0216 Searching for the Add-in Express core library.
10:34:38 0216 Success. The 'AddinExpress.IE.dll' file is found.
10:34:38 0216 Creating an instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
10:34:38 0216 Assembly identity is 'AddinExpress.IE'.
10:34:38 0216 Success.
10:34:38 0216 Unwrapping the instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
10:34:38 0216 Success.
10:34:38 0216 Calling the managed registration procedure.
10:34:38 0628 Connecting to the application domain of the Add-in Express loader.
10:34:38 0628 Success.
10:34:38 0628 Loading the 'myietoolbar1.dll' assembly.
10:34:38 0628 Success.
10:34:38 0628 Registering the 'myietoolbar1.dll' assembly (administrator).
10:34:38 0628 The ' myietoolbar1.dll' assembly has been registered successfully.
10:34:38 0216 Success.
10:34:38 0216 The add-in registration process is completed with HRESULT = 0.

Obviously, base directory for the domain is wrong.

My system is Windows 7, 64-bit version. What should I change in setup procedure, so I don't have to register manually.
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 04:22:50 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17943
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Ivan,

Can you please check if you install your assembly, adxregistrator.exe and AddinExpress.IE.DLL to the same folder?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 04:51:29 Top
Ivan Toskov




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-03
This is content of my install folder:

Volume in drive C is OS
Volume Serial Number is 864E-262C

Directory of c:\Program Files (x86)\MyIEToolbar1\MyIEToolbar1

03/06/2011 11:39 <DIR> .
03/06/2011 11:39 <DIR> ..
03/06/2011 10:50 1,438,968 AddinExpress.IE.dll
03/06/2011 10:50 479,232 adxloader.dll
03/06/2011 10:50 257 adxloader.dll.manifest
31/05/2011 17:20 677,376 adxloader64.dll
03/06/2011 10:50 132,344 adxregistrator.exe
03/06/2011 10:50 126,976 Interop.SHDocVw.dll
03/06/2011 10:50 8,007,680 Microsoft.mshtml.dll
03/06/2011 10:50 14,336 MyIEToolbar1.dll
8 File(s) 10,877,169 bytes
2 Dir(s) 188,909,883,392 bytes free

As you can see, assembly, adxregistrator.exe and AddinExcpress.IE.DLL are all there.

Regards from Serbia, respect to Belarus :)
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 04:56:48 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17943
Joined: 2006-05-11
Thank you, Ivan :)

How do you install it? Do you run setup.exe or .MSI? Is the user running the installer an administrator or a standard user? What permissions are used for the second time? Is UAC set to default?

Can you please copy here the header of the adxregistrator.log?
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 05:10:00 Top
Ivan Toskov




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-03
I'm running setup.exe as an administrator. For the second time, I run command prompt as an administrator.

this is header of log when setup.exe is started:
Add-in Express Registrator Log File: 06/03/2011 10:57:09

Installation directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\MyIEToolbar1\MyIEToolbar1\
Registrator version: 7.1.4102.0
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (build 7600), 64-bit
Process Owner: Administrator
Command Line: "C:\Program Files (x86)\MyIEToolbar1\MyIEToolbar1\adxregistrator.exe" /Install="MyIEToolbar1.dll" /privileges=admin
Run 'As Administrator': Yes
Process Elevated: Yes
Integrity Level: High
UAC (User Account Control): Off


This is header of log when adxregistrator is started from command prompt:
Add-in Express Registrator Log File: 06/03/2011 10:34:38

Installation directory: c:\Program Files\MyIEToolbar1\MyIEToolbar1\
Registrator version: 7.1.4102.0
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (build 7600), 64-bit
Process Owner: Administrator
Command Line: adxregistrator /install=MyIEToolbar1.dll
Run 'As Administrator': Yes
Process Elevated: Yes
Integrity Level: High
UAC (User Account Control): Off
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 05:23:36 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17943
Joined: 2006-05-11
The first log shows that you install to Program Files (x86); the second run is performed in the 64-bit version of Program Files.

What Platform do you have the in Configuration Manager dialog for your toolbar project?

And what .NET Framework version is used in your project? Please check that the same CLR version is loaded when the toolbar is registered (see adxregistrator.log).

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 05:38:24 Top
Ivan Toskov




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-03
How do you obtain base directory in setup procedure?
I think that is the problem, setup is looking for AddinExpress.IE.dll in widows/system32 folder, not in installed application folder.

(platform configuration is ok, I have tried on other machines with win xp installed, that is why it is in "Program Files (x86)", but the result is the same)
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 05:59:49 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17943
Joined: 2006-05-11
As far as I understand, #The directory is 'C:\Windows\system32\'# should read #The current directory is 'C:\Windows\system32\'#. I'll talk to our guys about this.

May I ask you to create a new empty toolbar + setup project that show the same behavior? Or, better yes, provided that you created your setup project in VS, can you please send me your solution with all sensitive parts removed? If yes, please find the support email address in readme.txt. I will not need to compile/install it; what I need is to look at the settings.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 06:46:22 Top
Ivan Toskov




Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-06-03
Thanks to support team, this is the solution (for anyone with similar problem):

Please change the Arguments field of the setup custom actions to

Install:
/install="[TARGETDIR]<Assemblyname>.dll" /privileges=admin

Rollback:
/uninstall="[TARGETDIR] <Assemblyname>.dll" /privileges=admin

Uninstall:
/uninstall="[TARGETDIR] <Assemblyname>.dll" /privileges=admin

Keep up the good work !
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 08:19:12 Top
Eugene Astafiev


Guest


Hi Ivan,

Thank you for sharing the solution for other forum readers. Good luck with your project!
Posted 03 Jun, 2011 08:30:52 Top