.NET framework requirements

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

.NET framework requirements
 
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
I'm wondering if there is any way I can make my toolbar work with .NET 3.5 as a minimum? The toolbar kept crashing and it gave me some PublicKeyToken error and it mentioned <project name>My.MySettings blah blah blah and it said version=4.0.0. I had the project targeting .NET framework 3.5 with the setup and the main project. It only stopped working with 3.5 when I added a custom control that was created in 2007.

Here is the adx log file

Add-in Express Registrator Log File: 05/11/2011 11:42:01

Installation directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\NewHomessection\NHSToolbar\
Registrator version: 6.3.3053.0
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional (build 7600), 64-bit
Process Owner: System
Command Line: "C:\Program Files (x86)\NewHomessection\NHSToolbar\adxregistrator.exe" /install="NHSToolbar.dll" /privileges=admin
Run 'As Administrator': Yes
Process Elevated: Yes
Integrity Level: System
UAC (User Account Control): On
--------------------------------------------------------------
11:42:01 Starting the add-in registration process.
11:42:01 Loading mscoree.dll
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 .NET Framework installation directory:
11:42:01 The latest version of .NET Framework: 'v4.0.30319'
11:42:01 Loading CLR: v4.0.30319.
11:42:01 Calling CLRCreateInstance method.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Calling GetRuntime method.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Calling GetInterface method.
11:42:01 Calling GetInterface method for the CorRuntimeHost interface.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Starting CLR...
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 The CLR v4.0.30319 has been initialized successfully.
11:42:01 Creating a new domain setup.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Getting the add-in directory.
11:42:01 Success. The directory is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\NewHomessection\NHSToolbar\'
11:42:01 The 'shadow copy' is disabled.
11:42:01 Creating a new application domain.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Getting the base directory for the domain.
11:42:01 Success. The directory is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\NewHomessection\NHSToolbar\'.
11:42:01 Searching for the Add-in Express core library.
11:42:01 Success. The 'AddinExpress.IE.dll' file is found.
11:42:01 Creating an instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
11:42:01 Assembly identity is 'AddinExpress.IE'.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Unwrapping the instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
11:42:01 Success.
11:42:01 Calling the managed registration procedure.
11:42:01 600 Connecting to the application domain of the Add-in Express loader.
11:42:01 600 Success.
11:42:01 600 Loading the 'nhstoolbar.dll' assembly.
11:42:01 600 Success.
11:42:01 600 Registering the 'nhstoolbar.dll' assembly (administrator).
11:42:04 600 The ' nhstoolbar.dll' assembly has been registered successfully.
11:42:07 Success.
11:42:07 The add-in registration process is completed with HRESULT = 0.
Posted 13 May, 2011 13:34:45 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Carl,

I don't see any errors in the registration log. Do you get the error when IE starts?

Have you ever set the Target Framework to v4.0 in your project? If so, please remove the 'obj' subfolder of your project and rebuild the add-on. Usually it helps.
Posted 16 May, 2011 04:22:25 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
I get the error in VS. The framework is at v4 in the project, which is what got rid of the error. I want the framework to be at v3.5 so there is no big issue of people needing to upgrade their .NET framework just to use a toolbar.
Posted 16 May, 2011 13:06:47 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7228
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Carl,

Did you remove the 'obj' subfolder? Didn't it help?
The fact is that VS transforms .NET resources when you set Target Framework to v4. It may cause the issue. Another solution is that you need to re-create your project from scratch for .NET v3.5 and then move the existing files to the new project.
Posted 17 May, 2011 05:54:06 Top
Carl Wuensche




Posts: 50
Joined: 2008-11-07
Thanks, removing the obj folder did the trick.
Posted 17 May, 2011 13:38:21 Top