IE Add-in does not show up at all

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

IE Add-in does not show up at all
IE Add-in does not show up at all 
Pratibha Pandey




Posts: 33
Joined: 2010-06-30
Hi Support Team,

We have created a toolbar using Add-In Express which is an IEAdd-In. But for Windows 7 IE 8, the IE Add-in does not show up at all. We have made the Protected mode off also

Regards,
Pratibha
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 01:54:29 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14210
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Pratibha,

Are you saying that the add-on does work on some systems and doesn't work on some other systems?

When it doesn't show up, do you see it in Tools | Manage Add-ons? Also, when Protected mode is off, are there any errors in the log file typically located in [My ]Documents\Add-in Express\adxloader.log?

What is the bitness of Windows 7 and IE 8? In Visual Studio, in Build | Configuration Manager, what platform is chosen for yout IE add-on project?

What module type is used in your add-on? ADXIEModule?

Do you debug your add-on or you've installed it?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 02:23:45 Top
Pratibha Pandey




Posts: 33
Joined: 2010-06-30
Hi Andrei,

It did not work on Windows 7. It is not showing at all.

It is not showing in Manage Add-ons also.
I worked on 64-bit as well as 32-bit.
It is not showing in any one of them

Module is ADXIEModule.

I have installed the toolbar on Windows 7.
I am not able to locate the log file: [My ]Documents\Add-in Express\adxloader.log
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 03:31:44 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14210
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Pratibha,

Try creating a new IE add-on project and registering it in VS. Does it show in Tools | Manage Add-ons? If no, please make sure that you start VS via "Run as administrator".

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 06:11:28 Top
Pratibha Pandey




Posts: 33
Joined: 2010-06-30
HI Andrei,
Do I really need to create a new project on Windows 7 as it is client's machine where I'll have to test?
Is there any other option..
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 06:38:55 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14210
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Pratibha,

You can create such a project on your PC and try to install it on the customer's PC. If this doesn't work, please send me both the project and the installer to the support e-mail address, see {Add-in Express}\readme.txt. Please make sure your e-mail contains a link to this topic.

What Add-in Express version are you using?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 23 Jul, 2010 06:56:59 Top