using custom controls (3rd party controls) in IE toolbar

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

using custom controls (3rd party controls) in IE toolbar
 
Vincent Ayachit




Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-06-15
Hi Sergey,

To achieve the design pattern i want, I have to either customize appearance of adxieCommandItem or use third party control.
( You have mentioned in previous post (posted by me using sematiqueweb's id) that i can use any third party controls. ).

Now when i try to drag and drop my control it doesnt show up in toolbar (custom button).
Could you please guide me process of using third party controls in toolbar.

Thanks
Vincent
Posted 15 Jun, 2010 03:06:44 Top
Vincent Ayachit




Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-06-15
just to clarify: i have to do it because of visual requirements. I needs to show up two images side by side which i cant do in regular adxieCommandItem .
Posted 15 Jun, 2010 04:37:59 Top
semantique




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-04-01
Hi,

Could you please look into this issue quickly?
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 01:57:35 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Vincent.

Do you drag-n-drop controls within a custom toolbar?
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 05:22:34 Top
semantique




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-04-01
Hi Sergay,

Yes i did drag-n-drop controls but it doesnt show up. I want the control to show up as custom button

User added an image

If you want to look at the simple testing code, i have uploaded it here http://115.119.10.85/htmls/ToolBarProj.rar

Please let me know any feasible solution to achieve the visuals.

Thanks
Vincent
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 05:41:21 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Vincent, you can customize the IE command bar via the Customize Toolbar dialog in IE (right click on the command bar and choose the customize option). Custom controls may not appear for the first time if IE Command bar has been previously customized (e.g. positions of some controls was changed). In this case you can reset the command bar via the Reset option of the Customize Toolbar dialog.
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 06:23:17 Top
semantique




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-04-01
Hi Sergey,

I think i didnt explain it properly, sorry. What i mean to say is, adxieCommandItem can show only one icon. I want to place there couple of images and some text. with current situation i can show something like

User added an image

And i want to change it to show two images side by side and some text. So as per your advice in previous post ( http://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=10&TID=7405 ) I created a custom control which looks like

User added an image

Now i want this custom control to appear as command button in toolbar ( instead on adxieCommandItem in first image).

Could you please guide me how i can achieve this?

Thanks
Vincent
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 07:57:35 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Vincent, you didn't understand me correctly. I meant custom controls on a custom toolbar and not the IE Command Bar.
It is not possible to achieve what you want. Script buttons (ADXIECommandItem component) don't support such a functionality.
Posted 16 Jun, 2010 08:48:10 Top
semantique




Posts: 23
Joined: 2010-04-01
Hi,

could you please help us with an example on how to achieve the desired results?

Thanks
Posted 19 Jun, 2010 12:13:14 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14372
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Vincent,

Please see my reply in Two buttons next to each other on Command Bar.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 21 Jun, 2010 08:07:30 Top