Issue on Windows 7 64 bit

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Issue on Windows 7 64 bit
Toolbar is not getting installed 
tf teck




Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-23
Hello

We have created a toolbar using Add-in express. The toolbar gets installed fine on all the other platforms except 64-bit Windows 7. On this platform the installation goes through fine BUT the toolbar is not installed in IE. I can see it installed in Add / Remove programs, there is no absolutely no errors during the installation. However, the toolbar is simply not there in IE.

I have 64-bit Windows 7, and 32-bit IE 8

Can you please let me know what could be causing this to happen?

Thank you!
Posted 29 Apr, 2010 17:14:46 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hello.

What version of Add-in Express for IE do you use? Do you install the toolbar under the admin account?
Posted 30 Apr, 2010 10:09:52 Top
Stan S




Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-09-04
Sergey,

I just had same problem.
I purchased ADX for IE today and downloaded recent version of it.
Version of ADXLoader: 6.0.3037.0

I create add-in (BHO) for IE, it is very basic at this moment. I have positive report fr om my client's test lab wh ere they check it with Windows 7 x64 bit (probably default configuration). I had negative report from a end user. The end user had reported that our previous unmanaged BHO did not work with him (that's why we purchased ADX for .NET and tried to create version of the plugin with managed code). So the new ADX-drived BHO did not work.

I discovered that he had UAC slider at the "minimum" position. So I advised that he sets UAC to maximum (default position), reboot computer and reinstalled the plugin. He did all of that but did not help.

The logs look good, I paste them here for your convenience:

Add-in Express Registrator Log File: 05/12/2010 17:09:42

Installation directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\Default Company\SOMETHING\
Registrator version: 6.0.1.0
-------------------------------
17:09:42 Starting the add-in registration process.
17:09:42 Loading mscoree.dll
17:09:42 Success.
17:09:42 .NET Framework installation directory:
17:09:42 The latest version of .NET Framework: 'v2.0.50727'
17:09:42 Loading CLR: v2.0.50727.
17:09:42 The CLR v2.0.50727 has been initialized successfully.
17:09:42 Creating a new domain setup.
17:09:42 Success.
17:09:42 Getting the add-in directory.
17:09:42 Success. The directory is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Default Company\SOMETHING
17:09:42 The configuration file is '(null)'
17:09:42 The 'shadow copy' is disabled.
17:09:42 Creating a new application domain.
17:09:42 Success.
17:09:42 Getting the base directory for the domain.
17:09:42 Success. The directory is 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Default Company\SOMETHING\'.
17:09:42 Searching for the Add-in Express core library.
17:09:42 Success. The 'AddinExpress.IE.dll' file is found.
17:09:42 Creating an instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
17:09:42 Assembly identity is 'AddinExpress.IE'.
17:09:58 Success.
17:09:58 Unwrapping the instance of the 'AddinExpress.Deployment.ADXRegistrator' class.
17:09:58 Success.
17:09:58 Calling the managed registration procedure.
17:09:58 Success.
17:09:58 The add-in registration process is completed with HRESULT = 0.
Posted 12 May, 2010 20:42:27 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Stan.

Please show me the log which is created when IE starts. Is the add-on enabled in the Manage Add-ons dialog in IE?
Posted 13 May, 2010 10:17:15 Top
Stan S




Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-09-04
Hi Sergey,
This is the only log I have.
Add-on is enabled in IE, but never loads (blank space under "loaded in sec" column).
Posted 14 May, 2010 03:58:11 Top
Stan S




Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-09-04
Sergey,

I was contacted by the end client - he's eager to help (because he wants the product on his primary computer)
if you have instructions or sample to execute, I will be able to do so.

Stan
Posted 14 May, 2010 06:19:11 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 7202
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi Stan.

Do you see the toolbar in 'View->Toolbars' menu?
Posted 14 May, 2010 12:00:13 Top
Stan S




Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-09-04
Sergey, it's not a toolbar, it's BHO.
Posted 16 May, 2010 16:27:01 Top
Stan S




Posts: 181
Joined: 2007-09-04
but anyway, it does not display load time -> it did not load -> it won't display toolbar if it had one.
Posted 16 May, 2010 16:29:24 Top
tf teck




Posts: 9
Joined: 2010-02-23
Sergey

Responses to your questions:

1. What version of Add-in Express for IE do you use?

I have used Add-In Express 2010 for Internet Explorer

2. Do you install the toolbar under the admin account?

Yes

3. Please show me the log which is created when IE starts.

I am not sure how to get hold of the log. If you could let me know how I can have the end client get me the log file.

4. Do you see the toolbar in 'View->Toolbars' menu?

No, that's the real problem. It doesn't show up in IE at all. It is almost as if the toolbar was never installed. But it shows installed in Add / Remove programs in Control Panel.

I hope this addresses your questions regarding my original post. Please let me know if you need any other information. A quick response will be highly appreciated.

Thank you!
Posted 17 May, 2010 08:13:31 Top