Loading a sidebar when starting IE even when the user closed it in the previous session

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Loading a sidebar when starting IE even when the user closed it in the previous session
 
Kees Verpalen




Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-15
Hello,

How can I make sure a sidebar opens when you start a new browsersession, even if the user closed it on the previous session?

I have looked at this topic but I want to implement a sidebar (AddinExpress.IE.ADXIEBarModule) instead of a tool bar (AddinExpress.IE.ADXIEToolbar).

Thanks!
Posted 15 Apr, 2010 07:37:44 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14954
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Kees,

Unfortunately, there's no way to do this for an IE bar.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 16 Apr, 2010 09:23:20 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14954
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Kees,

I'm sorry for a non-complete reply. You can achieve this if you use a BHO + IE Bar combination. Please see Download Manager sample add-on for IE. When you click on the context menu item, the code shows the IE bar if it isn't shown.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 16 Apr, 2010 11:56:33 Top
Kees VP




Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-04-15
Great that really helped!

Thanks.
Posted 19 Apr, 2010 05:51:11 Top
Muller Stephan




Posts: 50
Joined: 2010-03-11
Also thanks from me :D

However I do have one question left: How would I open one bar from another? Since I do not have the IEModule.Bars property in the toolbar class. :?:


Kind Regards
Stephan
Posted 20 Apr, 2010 10:23:10 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14954
Joined: 2006-05-11
Stephan,

See the Module property. Then...

You use Bars and Toolbars properties to get a collection of <Item> objects (ADXIEBarItem or ADXIEToolBarItem); every <Item> object provides access to an <Obj> property (BarObj or ToolBarObj), which returns an appropriate Add-in Express class type (ADXIEBar or ADXIEToolbar).


Is this what you are looking for?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 20 Apr, 2010 10:33:10 Top
Muller Stephan




Posts: 50
Joined: 2010-03-11
Okay, that was easy :D, so instead of using

this.Bars. [...]

like in the IEModule, in bars I use

this.Modules.Bars.[...]

I'll give it a try today.

Thanks :!:

I will also create a bunch of screenshots and a short on-screen video of my debugging problem (other thread). Unfortunately even attach to process does not solve the issue.


Kind Regards
Stephan
Posted 21 Apr, 2010 00:34:27 Top