Error thrown from Windows Explorer on Windows 7

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Error thrown from Windows Explorer on Windows 7
After installing Add-in Express-based IE add-in 
Ira Whitman




Posts: 54
Joined: 2010-01-21
I have a report fr om one QA person testing on Windows 7 x64. My IE add-in is working on his IE8 on Windows 7 x64, but he sees an error when he launches Windows Explorer!

Message Box Title: Error
What happened:
Astria.Modules.Alydar.IEModule error: the Browser extension has fired an exception.
Wh ere presumably this happened:
An error occurred in the code of Add-In Express library. See 'Details'....

(Astria.Modules.Alydar.IEModule of course is my add-in express project.)
These are the details:

Date and Time: 2/1/2010 11:39:35 AM

Machine Name: JGRECO-LAPTOP

IP Address: fe80::8547:3ec7:d516:67ac%15

Current User: jgreco-laptop\jgreco



Application Domain: DefaultDomain

Assembly Codebase: file:///C:/DOCSTAR/IE Link/AddinExpress.IE.DLL

Assembly Full Name: AddinExpress.IE, Version=6.0.365.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=4416dd98f0861965

Assembly Version: 6.0.365.0

Assembly Build Date: 1/26/2010 5:25:22 PM



Exception Source: AddinExpress.IE

Exception Type: System.ApplicationException

Exception Message: Can't create a subclass for the InternetToolbarHost window.

Exception Target Site: ADXIEModule_DownloadBegin



---- Stack Trace ----

AddinExpress.IE.ADXIEModule.ADXIEModule_DownloadBegin()

AddinExpress.IE.DLL: N 0896 (0x380) IL


Clicking on OK allows Windows Explorer to operate normally…

The system is running
Windows 7 64BIT
IE version 8.0.7600.16385
Posted 01 Feb, 2010 14:41:46 Top
Ira Whitman




Posts: 54
Joined: 2010-01-21
New info:

My original toolkit was SETUP for x86, not x64. I created a new SETUP for x64. After uninstalling the old one, rebooting, and installing the new one, the error from Windows Explorer is gone.

Does this make sense? Will we need to distribute both SETUP's?
Posted 01 Feb, 2010 15:28:44 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14372
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hi Ira,

The default setup project creates an installer that works on both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of IE. If you add some custom things to the the setup project, you may need to have two separate installers. Is this the case?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+2),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 02 Feb, 2010 10:36:02 Top