Is there an ActiveX version of Add-in Express?

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Is there an ActiveX version of Add-in Express?
 
Jon


Guest


Hi,

I use delphi enterprise version 6. I note that add-in express requires me to update to "Delphi 6 Enterprise with Update Pack 2". For various reasons we are not able to update our development stations to update pack 2 (corporate descision) therefore I presume we would be unable to use the VCL for Delphi 6???

Therefore, are there any plans to create an activeX version that would get around this problem for us?

thank you

Jon
Posted 21 Oct, 2005 10:54:55 Top
Guest


Guest


Doesn't anyone want to answer my question then? :(

Jon
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 03:16:45 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2745
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Jon,

We don't plan to create an ActiveX edition of Add-in Express.

Posted 23 Oct, 2005 08:06:53 Top
Eugene Starostin


ADX Team
Add-in Express team


Posts: 430
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Jon,

However, Add-in Express requires the MS Office 2000 Automation Server wrappers included in all editions of Delphi 6 except the Personal edition. So you can use Delphi 6 Professional with up2.
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 10:02:38 Top
Eugene Starostin


ADX Team
Add-in Express team


Posts: 430
Joined: 2004-04-05
Jon,

Ignore my previous message. It is my mistake.
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 10:24:40 Top
Guest


Guest


Eugene,

I'm a bit confused. Ignore which post, you posted 2?

Will the VCL work with Delphi 6 (without any update packs) ???

thanks

Jon
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 11:46:19 Top
Eugene Starostin


ADX Team
Add-in Express team


Posts: 430
Joined: 2004-04-05
Jon,

No, I posted one only. As for Delphi 6 without update pack 2, Add-in Express doesn't work on it. The reason is the Variants unit where Borland guys have some critical bugs.
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 12:20:17 Top
Guest


Guest


Oh yes, sorry, I though the post by Dimitry was you also :D

If I obtained the updated variants unit from someone else who had the update pack 2 would that work?

Jon
Posted 23 Oct, 2005 13:39:50 Top
Dmitry Kostochko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 2745
Joined: 2004-04-05
Hi Jon,

I strongly suspect that replacing of one unit will not solve the whole problem. We can not guarantee the Add-in Express will work correctly with Delphi 6 Update Pack 1.

Posted 24 Oct, 2005 04:11:53 Top