Outlook Add-in redirect archive button

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Add-in redirect archive button
Local outlook 365 
JWBokx




Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-01-12
Hello all,

I'm very new to the add-in express components.
My first add-in is for Outlook 365, local installation.

The plugin loads, and I can debug it.
Made a popup window, is also working.

Now I want to override the archive function.
On the site where a first plugin is described I found to use adxRibbonCommand.
The demo is for the reply, so I changed to archive.
But this does not work.
I also tried the Built-in Control Scanner.
But it shows no buttons!
Only Command Bar's and the siblings are all "unsupported 0x-0019"

What am I doing wrong?
Posted 12 Jan, 2021 10:37:45 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17613
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello JWBokx,

Built-in Control Scanner deals with CommandBar controls only; it can't help you with Ribbon Controls.

JWBokx writes:
The demo is for the reply, so I changed to archive. But this does not work.


Does it work if you do not change it?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Jan, 2021 05:10:17 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17613
Joined: 2006-05-11
And in what way it doesn't work? Do you get exceptions?

Get informed about errors in Ribbon markup

By default, if an add-in attempts to customize the Ribbon user interface (UI) of Office 2007-2019/365 and fails, no error message is displayed. However, you can configure Office applications to display messages for errors that relate to the UI. You can use these messages to help determine why a custom Ribbon does not appear, or why a Ribbon appears but no controls show up.
Outlook 2007:
Go to the Outlook menu -> Tools -> Options -> go to the Other tab and click Advanced Options.
In the Advanced Options dialog box, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Office 2007 (except for Outlook, see above):
Click the Microsoft Office Button
Go to {application name} Options -> Advanced
In the General section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Outlook 2010-2019/365:
Click File -> Options - >Advanced
In the Developer section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Office 2010-2019/365 (except for Outlook, see above):
Click File -> Options - >Advanced
In the General section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Jan, 2021 05:15:58 Top
JWBokx




Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-01-12
Andrei Smolin writes:
Does it work if you do not change it?


It does work when idMso = reply.
My code is executed when I hit the Reply button.

But with dsMso = archive, pressing the archive button executes the standard archive action.
Because we have dutch office, I also tried the dutch word for archive, archiveren.
This is showed as info under the archive button.
But this doesn't wordk either.

Andrei Smolin writes:
And in what way it doesn't work? Do you get exceptions?


It does not throw execptions, but every sibling of commandbar displays the unsupported text.

If I understand correctly, the tool is not to be used with Outlook 365?

Searching Microsoft site I found documents with id's, but archive is not listen...
Posted 13 Jan, 2021 05:37:27 Top
JWBokx




Posts: 3
Joined: 2021-01-12
I found the right idMso, it is "MoveToArchiveFolder"
On stackoverflow was a neat trick.
Just enter the customize ribbon screen and hover over the controls in the rightside panel and the hint shows the id.
Posted 13 Jan, 2021 05:52:26 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17613
Joined: 2006-05-11
Thank you. We post this and other Ribbon-related suggestions at https://www.add-in-express.com/docs/net-ribbon-tips.php.

JWBokx writes:
If I understand correctly, the tool is not to be used with Outlook 365?


It can be used with Office 365. It can't be used in your case, though: the utility doesn't work with Ribbon controls.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Jan, 2021 06:20:35 Top