clipboard use problem

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

clipboard use problem
 
SiJoong Song




Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-11
In MS-WORD
-When copying a sentence, the message 'cannot open clipboard' is displayed intermittently.
-When copying a picture, in most cases the picture is not copied to the clipboard, and no error occurs.
(Also, when checking if there is any BITMAP information on the clipboard, TRUE is returned in most cases.)
windows10 can see clipboard when WinKey+V.

**** These problems are not seen at all when testing with an EXE made by same code.
Appears only when running as an addin for MS-WORD using Addin Express.


what can i try for fix thiese problems??

I am currently using Windows 10 64bit, MS-WORD 2007 32bit.


For reference, the routine to copy a picture is as follows:
// i had set MS-WORD OLE to 'MSWDocument'
Selection := MSWDocument.ActiveDocument.ActiveWindow.Selection;
Shapes := Selection.InlineShapes;
if Shapes.Count > 0 then
begin
Shapes.Item(1).Select;
MSWDocument.ActiveDocument.ActiveWindow.Selection.Copy;
// if ADDIN, most case no image exist on clipboard.
if ClipBoard.HasFormat(CF_BITMAP) = True then
result := True;
end;
Posted 11 Nov, 2019 23:54:23 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17684
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello SiJoong,

We can't reproduce this; see http://temp.add-in-express.com/support/Copy%20shape%20to%20clipboard.zip.

SiJoong Song writes:
// i had set MS-WORD OLE to 'MSWDocument'


Try to use the WordApp property of the add-in module instead.

Also, try to repair Office and turn off all other COM add-ins.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 13 Nov, 2019 04:24:19 Top
SiJoong Song




Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-11-11
Hi. Andrei Smolin.

sample was wrong.
i have check sample you linked.
this sample can not copy picture, always.

there are
 if shapes.Count > 0 then begin 

but 'shapes.Count' always 0.
(sure, my test document have 2 images)


i try 'Shapes' change to 'InlineShapes' then i can count.
(and some more modify)

var
  shapes: Word2000.InlineShapes;
  selection: Word2000.WordSelection;
begin
  selection := WordApp.ActiveWindow.Selection;
  if Assigned(selection) then begin
    shapes := WordApp.ActiveDocument.InlineShapes;
    if Assigned(shapes) then begin
      if shapes.Count > 0 then begin
        shapes.Item(1).Select;
        selection.Copy;
        // delete & paste for test
        Shapes.item(1).Delete;
        selection.Paste;
      end;
      shapes := nil;
    end;
    selection := nil;
  end;
end;



when i run modify-code at ADX OnClick event, copy was successful on PC.
(if run on VMWare virtual-machine then sometime success, sometime fail)
but my original program still not copy.
my original code is in a different UNIT and is called from a long routine.
I suspect ADX affects the clipboard. because my EXE always success.


Is there anything that could affect the clipboard?
Posted 15 Nov, 2019 13:08:49 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 17684
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello SiJoong,

SiJoong Song writes:
i try 'Shapes' change to 'InlineShapes' then i can count.


Shapes and InlineShapes are different collections containing different (although very similar) objects. That is, your test documents contain Inlineshape objects, not Shape.

SiJoong Song writes:
my original code is in a different UNIT and is called from a long routine.


We suppose that your long routine takes part in this issue. In the general case, such a routine may be called in a context (or it may create a context) that isn't suitable for copying anything to the Clipboard.

SiJoong Song writes:
I suspect ADX affects the clipboard.


Add-in Express doesn't use/handle/whatever the Clipboard. To check this, add a test Ribbon button and execute your Clipboard-related code.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 18 Nov, 2019 06:03:57 Top