registered from a Office version

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

registered from a Office version
registered from a Office version 
Subscribe
Karim




Posts: 153
Joined: 2006-01-02
Hi,
How to do it so that my add is registered only from office 2010.
In that event it is necessary to put the condition
Posted 23 Oct, 2017 03:47:11 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Karim,

The registration information is stored in the registry and thus it doesn't depend on Office at all. Also, you cannot prevent your add-in from being loaded. What you need is to prevent your add-in from functioning: intercept AddinInitialize and OnRibbonBeforeCreate to delete all components from the add-in module and detach all event handlers. This results in your add-in listed in the COM add-ins dialog but the add-in shows no UI and reacts to no event.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 23 Oct, 2017 04:51:26 Top
Karim




Posts: 153
Joined: 2006-01-02
Hi Andrei,

The best solution is to do it in the program that register the dll :)

Thanks
Posted 23 Oct, 2017 04:58:47 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14129
Joined: 2006-05-11
Karim,

Imagine a user having Office 2007: you install your add-in and it doesn't register. Then the user installs Office 2016 and it is required to re-install your add-in in order for it to work. Finally, the user installs Office 2007 again and your add-in still works. All these manipulations aren't really probable but the result is obvious: your add-in may still work in a previous Office version if you make the decision at the registration time.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 23 Oct, 2017 05:19:37 Top