enable disable plugin programmatically

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

enable disable plugin programmatically
 
Giancarlo




Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-08-17
I'd like to build a second plugin that checks whether the first plugin is disabled, to enable it again.

Possible or science fiction?
Posted 09 Sep, 2016 08:40:49 Top
Giancarlo




Posts: 67
Joined: 2016-08-17
I want create this plugin for uptade the first

1) first Plugin Active = false
2) copy new version
3) first Plugin Active = true
Posted 09 Sep, 2016 08:45:25 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Giancarlo,

It's possible. Note however that I tested this scenario using .NET a while back. I got the following effect: getting/setting {an Application object}.COMAddins[{add-in's ProgId}].Connect caused the add-in's file to become locked and this prevents updating the add-in. Please find a description of that attempt at https://www.add-in-express.com/forum/read.php?FID=5&TID=14052. The loader mentioned in that page is an equivalent of your add-in DLL; the loader loads the .NET Framework to let your .NET based code to work. Marshal.ReleaseComObject is a .NET-specific way of dealing with COM objects; unlike Delphi, .NET isn't COM-aware.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 09 Sep, 2016 08:57:47 Top