Opening items programmatically in an Inspector Window

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Opening items programmatically in an Inspector Window
 
Andrew Lockwood




Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-12-29
Is it possible to open an Outlook item programmatically in an Inspector window? I have tried

OutlookItem.Display(False),

and the item is shown in a window, but it does not appear to be a true Inspector window, because my custom panel does not appear.


Andrew
Posted 04 Nov, 2015 21:23:45 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14106
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Andrew,

It is a true Inspector window. You can create a new ADXOlFormsCollectionItem showing a different pane in any InspectorLayout e.g. on MailItem objects and check if the new pane shows.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 05 Nov, 2015 02:16:32 Top
Andrew Lockwood




Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-12-29
Andrei

Thanks for the reply, but I do not understand.

If OutlookItem is a TaskItem and I call

OutlookItem.Display(False)

then surely, the item should open in a Task Inspector, just the same as if I open the same task from my task folder. So why does the pane not show when I call Display, but it does show when I open the same item from the folder?
Posted 05 Nov, 2015 18:31:35 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14106
Joined: 2006-05-11
Andrew,

You can create a test Ribbon button and open the item in the Click event of the button. Does inspector show?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 06 Nov, 2015 01:36:58 Top
Andrew Lockwood




Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-12-29
Andrei

It is very odd. If I do as you suggest, it works fine, and my custom panel displays.

But if I get the OutlookItem from its EntryID (Namespace.GetItemFromID) and then call OutlookItem.Display(False), my adxOlForm is not created so I just get a standard Inspector without my custom panel!


Andrew
Posted 09 Nov, 2015 09:02:17 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14106
Joined: 2006-05-11
Andrew,

I believe the difference is the event in which you call that code.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 09 Nov, 2015 09:12:30 Top
Andrew Lockwood




Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-12-29
Andrei

I am really struggling with this. It is not as simple as I said before. Sometimes my TadxOlForm is created from my code as the Inspector is created / opened, and sometimes it is not.

I can open the same item twice, once straight after the other and the panel isn't created / shown the first time, but it is the next.

What triggers the TadxOlForm to be created?


Andrew
Posted 10 Nov, 2015 06:25:31 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14106
Joined: 2006-05-11
Andrew,

We can't replicate this. Could you please send me a project demonstrating the issue? You can find the support email address in {Add-in Express installation folder}\readme.txt. Please make sure your email contains a link to this topic.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 11 Nov, 2015 05:48:51 Top
Andrew Lockwood




Posts: 50
Joined: 2014-12-29
Andrei

I am thinking about this. The problem is that my add-in is interdependent on a custom database, and it won't run without it. So at the moment, I do not know how to send it to you.
Posted 19 Nov, 2015 04:17:39 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14106
Joined: 2006-05-11
Andrew,

I suppose you open items on condition. You could imitate this right in the Click event of a test button.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 20 Nov, 2015 07:42:52 Top