Error in DTD XML

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Error in DTD XML
Opening Word or Excel an error is issued about DTD 
Paolo Righi




Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-04-08
Dear support,

I developed a simple COM addins with a single button in a Command bar with Add-in Express version 6.
One of our customers signaled he receives an error (I was sent a screenshot, unfortunately in Italian language) when he starts Word 2013 on his machine (or Excel - the application where the addins is added).
The translation in English of the text is the following:
<<Runtime error in the customized user interface in CoPentaBar
Error in the XML code of the customized user interface "CoPentaBar":
Row: 2
Column: 11
Error Code 0x80004005
The node neither is valid nor invalid as no declaration has been found in the DTD or in the schema.>>

I can't reproduce this error (maybe a compliance policy has been enforced by our customer).
I've recently updated to version 7 of VCL Add-in Express and rebuilt the DLL, but I have taken no other action.
I'm afraid to ask our customer to test the new version and receive the answer that "nothing has changed, the error is still there".
Can you enlighten me what that error means and how to solve the issue?

Thank you and Best regards.

Paolo Righi.
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 03:13:22 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
Hello Paolo,

CoPentaBar? Is this your add-in?

I suggest that you print out the XML created by add-in components, see the XML parameter in the OnRibbonBeforeLoad event of the add-in module.

Does the customer have several Office versions installed on the machine?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 03:27:35 Top
Paolo Righi




Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-04-08
Hello Andrei,

yes, I defined "CoPentaBar" my add-in.

I captured the following for XML parameter:
<customUI xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2006/01/customui" onLoad="RibbonLoaded_Callback" loadImage="GetImages_Callback">

I don't know if our customer has more than one Office installation, let's suppose he hasn't.


Best Regards.

Paolo Righi.
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 04:21:15 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
Paolo,

Do you get this on your machine? If so, please tick the following flag:

Outlook 2007:
Go to the Outlook menu -> Tools -> Options -> go to the Other tab and click Advanced Options.
In the Advanced Options dialog box, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Office 2007 (except for Outlook, see above):
Click the Microsoft Office Button
Go to {application name} Options -> Advanced
In the General section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Outlook 2010-2013:
Click File -> Options - >Advanced
In the Developer section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.
Office 2010-2013 (except for Outlook, see above):
Click File -> Options - >Advanced
In the General section of the details pane, select Show add-in user interface errors and then click OK.

Does your add-in shows exactly the same Ribbon controls on different machines?

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 06:39:26 Top
Paolo Righi




Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-04-08
Hello Andrei,

I have a trial version of Office 2013 installed.
I haven't get any error.
Can I be confident that neither our customer will receive any error on his installation?
If the answer is yes I don't need further help.


Many thanks and Best Regards.

Paolo Righi.
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 07:19:10 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
Paolo,

Paolo Righi writes:
Can I be confident that neither our customer will receive any error on his installation?


Hmm, you can be confident only if you understand what, when and how causes the problem. Currently, the following scenario is possible: your add-in sets a value to some property of some Ribbon component and the mechanism parsing the XML output fires an exception. Probably, other scenarios exist.

You haven't replied to my questions:
- Do you get this XML on your machine?
- Does your add-in shows exactly the same Ribbon controls on different machines?

If you have different values of any properties of the Ribbon components on different machines, then you need to test the values that you use on that machine.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 07:43:11 Top
Paolo Righi




Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-04-08
Hello Andrei,

I got this XML on my test machine.
My add-in looks the same on every different machines I've tested (it is a simple button in a TAdxCommandbar component): it is added in the ADD-INS menu.


Best Regards.

Paolo Righi.
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 07:54:41 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
Paolo,

We've reproduced the issue. It belongs to Add-in Express version 6 and shows itself when the add-in is loaded in Office 2013. This issue doesn't occur in Add-in Express version 7.

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 08:37:16 Top
Paolo Righi




Posts: 5
Joined: 2014-04-08
Hello Andrei,

very glad to hear that.


Thank you a lot and Best Regards.

Paolo Righi.
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 08:44:51 Top
Andrei Smolin


Add-in Express team


Posts: 14140
Joined: 2006-05-11
You are welcome!

Regards from Belarus (GMT+3),

Andrei Smolin
Add-in Express Team Leader
Posted 08 Apr, 2014 08:59:44 Top