Outlook Buttons work in Debug Mode but not in Application

Add-in Express™ Support Service
That's what is more important than anything else

Outlook Buttons work in Debug Mode but not in Application
 
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

Had an odd problem which I hope someone has some ideas on. I have a button on a command bar in outlook that displays a simple messagebox which works in both debug and end application modes perfectly.

Another button has the following code:



Dim Connected As Boolean
Dim Piv_Form As Relationship_Form = New Relationship_Form
MsgBox("attempting to connect to Pivotal", MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Status of Connection to pivotal")
Piv_Form.RelCache.ConnectionName = "i2 Ltd Offline"
Piv_Form.RelCache.DisplayUI = True
Piv_Form.RelCache.Visible = True
Connected = Piv_Form.RelCache.Connect
MsgBox(Connected, MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Status of Connection to pivotal")
Connected = Piv_Form.RelCache.Disconnect
Piv_Form = Nothing
MsgBox("Disconnected from Pivotal", MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Status of Connection to pivotal")


It puts a messagebox on the screen then connects to our CRM system and then disconnects. The problem is that it connects perfectly in Debug mode but when run in Outlook as a standalone app the button does absolutely nothing. The button with the simple messagebox works perfectly. :?:

I am using Visual studio 2003 with XP SP2.

Matt
Posted 02 Sep, 2004 06:00:22 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 6828
Joined: 2004-07-05
Hi,

Try to inclose your code into Try ... Catch.
May be you get an exception there.

Or try to put the following line
< MsgBox("attempting to connect to Pivotal", MsgBoxStyle.Information, "Status of Connection to pivotal" > before < Dim Piv_Form As Relationship_Form = New Relationship_Form >.
Posted 02 Sep, 2004 06:38:35 Top
Matt Driver


Matt


Posts: 152
Joined: 2004-08-17
Hi

After un-registering the Outlook add-in from Outlook that I had build and uninstalling my program and then rebuilding and re-installing it works without debug mode.

It appears the simply un-installing the Outlook addin from Outlook then rebuilding and intalling over the top does of the existing install does not push the latest code into outlook.

Got it working now.

Matt
Posted 02 Sep, 2004 06:42:34 Top
Sergey Grischenko


Add-in Express team


Posts: 6828
Joined: 2004-07-05
Matt,

Before changing the configuration from Debug to Release you should unregister the Debug version of an add-in and only then register its Release version.

Good luck.
Posted 02 Sep, 2004 06:50:09 Top